Thursday, May 28, 2009

Reality Ends Here

In 1929, a collaboration between the University of Southern California and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences resulted in the first university in the country to offer a Bachelor of Arts degree in film. The school's founding faculty included Douglas Fairbanks, D.W. Griffith, William C. DeMille, Ernst Lubitsch, Irving Thalberg, and Darryl Zanuck.

In 1939, USC alumnus A. Arnold Gillespie became the school's first Academy Award winner, which he earned for Special Effects in The Wizard of Oz. Since 1973, there has been at least one alumnus of the School of Cinematic Arts that has been nominated for an Academy Award, totaling 256 nominations and 78 wins.

In 2009, eighty years after the school was founded, I was accepted to the School of Cinematic Arts to study Critical Studies. Dreams do come true.